This is the "ABM 304: Food & Agribus Mktg" page of the "ABM 304: Food & Agribusiness Marketing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

ABM 304: Food & Agribusiness Marketing  

Last Updated: Sep 26, 2013 URL: http://libguides.library.csupomona.edu/fma304 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

ABM 304: Food & Agribus Mktg Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

ABM 304: Food and Agribusiness Marketing

1. Websites for the County Assignment:

Summary of County Agricultural Commissioners Reports
County production data.  Historical data can be had from these hard copy books in the library:

Contact Information for California County Agricultural Commissioners and Sealers. Includes links to websites. Most of the Ag Commissioners websites have past and current crop reports (crop reports often include livestock). 

California Statistical Abstract from the California Dept of Finance has Agricultural and Demographic data by County. Scroll down the page to see links to the older editions. Older versions (1958-2003) can be had in hard copy here in the library.

California Agricultural Statistics Service, which has links to the 2007 Census of Agriculture California County Level Data; also see the Calfornia Agricultural Statistics

National Agricultural Statistics Service, which has a link to the Agricultural Quick Stats, Agricultural Quick Stats 2.0 which has searchable county data for the 2002 Census of Agriculture. ; Quick Stats 2.0 for the 1997 Census of Agriculture; and the 1992 Census of Agriculture

California Quickfacts from the Census Bureau 
Detailed demographics by county is available.

California Association of Counties - California's Counties | County Information
Mostly general, non agricultural information.

Western Regional Climate Center 
Both current and historical data; includes a climate summary for California; Numerical weather data for many California Cities can be had from Weatherbase. 

Natural Hazards Mitigation Plans
for cities and counties often have climate summaries in narrative form, particularly in the section on wildfires;  do a Google.com search of: Natural Hazards Mitigation Plan [name of city or county]:
Mitigation plans can be quite long; do a word search within the mitigation plan for "climate". Please be aware the not every city and county has a mitigation plan.   google search of natural hazards mitigation plan san luis obispo

 

California Climate Data Archive

Pacific Southwest Major Land Resource Area Soil Survey Office, Region#2 has the online Web Soil Survey, where you can retrieve very detailed soil data. The Pacific Southwest Major Land Resource Area Soil Survey Office, Region#2 page also has some links to online soil surveys which might have a county summary. If you don't find the kind of data you want, try the soil surveys in the library (below). 

2. Source for Soil information for California counties in the Library

Search the Library Catalog for the Subject: 

       soils california [name of county]

to find soil maps and soil surveys of the county in our collection here in the building.

Use the Library Catalog for Find Soil Surveys

See the tab "Books" towards the top of the page for the details of getting these items.

Also, you might be able to find relevant soil survey data online:  Web Soil Survey

screenshot of the results of a search in the catalog

 

3. Some Sources for the Industry/Commodity Assignment

 Market Share Cover shot of the Market Share ReporterMarket Share Reporter 

and the IBIS World databases:

See our FAQ on Market Share

 

Firms, Industries Cover shot of Wards Business DirectoryWards Business Directory  [Yearly]
Now available online.

Volume 5 "Ranked by Sales Within 4-Digit SIC".
Volume 8 “Ranked by Sales Within 6-Digit NAICS”.

Look at SIC codes 2011 through 2099 for food related industries (Volume 5). Look at NAICS codes 31111-312229 for food related industries (volume 8).

 

Cover shot of the Commodity YearbookCRB Commodity Yearbook [Yearly] Ref HF 1041. C56 (2nd Floor  Reference sheves, color of cover changes every year.  [ Where's this? ]

Has price and supply information on items traded on commodities futures exchanges.

Look at the "Markets Covered" listing to see if this book covers your crop or commodity. (You still have to come into the Library to see this book).

Business Resources You can look at some of the mainstream Business Sources, but be warned that many smaller industries and companies are not covered.

 Finding Trade Journals:

See the pages:

For trade journals involved in food and crop industries.

A more convenient approach would be to do a search in Proquest Databases or ABI/Inform Business Articles:

Screen shot from Proquest Databases showing a limit to Trade Journals

After doing an inital search (here it was "frozen food and market share") look to the right for a link to "Trade Journals".

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip