This is the "About Pubmed/Basic Searching" page of the "PubMed" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

PubMed   Tags: biological_sciences  

Learn to use our version of Pubmed to seach Medline to find medical, veterinary, sportsmedicine and nutritional articles
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2013 URL: http://libguides.library.csupomona.edu/pubmed Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

About Pubmed/Basic Searching Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About Pubmed

Journals in hard copyPubMed lets you search millions of journal citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine and supporting disciplines.  It is therefore useful in searching for veterinary, nutritional and sportsmedicine literarture.  It includes access to MEDLINE® and to citations for selected articles in life science journals not included in MEDLINE. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant Web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

You can get to OUR VERSION OF PUBMED from our Database Pages or from the tab on the upper right.  Be sure to use OUR VERSION so that you can get the maximum benefit from our paid subscriptions.

 

 Basic Searching

 

Type your search terms in the search box and click on "Search".  Shown here is a simple search, see the "Complex Searching" tab for help with other searches. 

screenshot of a simple search

As you type your search, some of the most popular PubMed searches will be displayed in a menu.  If you like, you can click on one of these autosuggested searches.

Screen shot form Pubmed showing auto suggest

After you do the search, you then get a list of results; click on the down arrow to change display settings, and then click on the radio button for "Abstract" and then click "Apply" 

click on the down arrow to change display settings and then click the radio button for "Abstract"and then clcik on "Apply".

The Find It! button now appears after each entry.

Look through the results for items of interest: if there is an indication of free full text, click on that before trying the Find IT! button. (Be sure the word "free" is there).

screenshot from pubmed: free full text icon


 

 

If there is no indication of free full text, click on the Find It! button.

See below for more about Find It!

The Find It! Button Now appears after each entry
 

Using Find It!

 

 

 

 

If you click on Find IT!, you will then get a screen which may tell you that full text is available at a certain site (and so you should click on the link to that site to go there).

 

If there is no full text site listed, search the Library catalog: this may lead to another full text link or tell you about issues of the journal we have here in the building

 

If the catalog shows we do not have the article you want, you can request a copy via Document Delivery 

 

FAQ: Got Questions? Get Answers!

Type in your question to find an answer quickly in our frequently asked questions database. If your question has not yet been asked, you have the option to fill out a brief form and we'll get back to you with an answer as soon as possible.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip